Rice University logoShell Center for Sustainability
Top blue bar image
  • Shell Center for Sustainability
  • Shell Center for Sustainability
  • Shell Center for Sustainability
Facebook btnRSS


The Shell Center for Sustainability's mission is to foster an interdisciplinary program of research, outreach, and education to address actions that can be taken to ensure the sustainable development of communities' living standards, interpreted broadly, to encompass all factors affecting the overall quality of life.


RURS 2015-1st Pooja RURS 2015 3rd Team

First Place: Pooja Yesantharao (l) with Lilibeth Andre. Third Place: Team (l to r) Jan Dudek, Carolina Osuna, Madhuri Venkateswar, and Jacob Jaffe.

The Shell Center for Sustainability (SCS) presented the Sustainable Development Award for undergraduate students for the 6th year in a row. In 2012, SCS joined the Rice Undergraduate Research Symposium (RURS) to participate in this exciting event and to recognize the work by undergraduate students. By adding the SCS Sustainable Development Award to RURS, students are able to submit projects that enhance sustainable development. This year's award was presented on April 15th, at Tudor Fieldhouse, on the Rice University campus.

SCS judges included Rice faculty, staff, and industry experts who reviewed abstracts and posters with the students to score on technical and presentation criteria. The task was not easy as all entries qualified for the award. After an intense scoring session, three winning projects were selected. A thank you to this year's judges: Lester King, Ph.D., SCS Fellow; Daniel Cohan, Ph.D., Associate Professor and Researcher; Gary Schatz, P.E., PTOE; Lilibeth Andre, SCS Associate Director; and Claude Griffin, Shell Oil Company.

The winning students are:

First Place

Pooja Yesantharao, Engineered, Affordable Glycans as New Antimicrobials.

Second Place

Beineng Zhang, Measurements of Component Azimuth of USArray Transportable Array

Third Place

Team of Madhuri Venkateswar, Jacob Jaffe, Carolina Osuna, and Jan Dudek, Texas Tow-st - Evaluation of Transportation Policy

Congratulations to the winning students, and special recognition to everyone who entered their project and presented their poster for competition.

RURS 2015 Judges

Judges: Lester King, Daniel Cohan, Gary Schatz, Lilibeth Andre, and Claude Griffin 
 Read more about RURS and the other winners.
In the News