Rice University logoShell Center for Sustainability
Top blue bar image
  • Shell Center for Sustainability
  • Shell Center for Sustainability
  • Shell Center for Sustainability
Facebook btnRSS


The Shell Center for Sustainability's mission is to foster an interdisciplinary program of research, outreach, and education to address actions that can be taken to ensure the sustainable development of communities' living standards, interpreted broadly, to encompass all factors affecting the overall quality of life.


RURS SCS Sustainable Development Award Winners 

Three winners of the Shell Center for Sustainability (SCS) Sustainable Development Award were selected and announced at the 2014 Rice University Undergraduate Research Symposium (RURS) yesterday at Tudor Field, on the Rice University campus.

Winners were Tierra Moore, with Greenhouse gas production in oiled and unoiled S. alterniflora alterniflora and A. germinans germinans soils in tidal salt marshes Barataria Bay, Louisiana; Shayak Sengupta, with Alternative Fuel Vehicles in Urban Settings: A Case Study of the City of Houston Municipal Fleet; and Lun Li, with Satellite-based Analysis on NO2 Temporal Trends to Diagnose Nitrogen Oxide Sources.

All entries were reviewed by SCS judges, Claude Griffin, Shell Oil Company; Professor Douglas Schuler, Ph.D.; Russ Conser, former Shell Oil Company; Professor Daniel Cohan, Ph.D., and Lilibeth André, Associate Director of the Shell Center for Sustainability.
 RURS 2014 Winners 
(l-r) Shayak Sengupta, award winner; Lilibeth Andre, SCS; and Lun Li, award winner. 

The criteria for the award mirrors criteria for research proposals used by SCS. This strategy is in an effort to generate greater synergy in the investment of intellectual and economic resources while reaching out to undergraduate students in their early research work. This is the fourth year the SCS Sustainable Development Award has been presented, and third year SCS has participated with RURS. Read more about SCS at: http://shellcenter.rice.edu.

 SCS RURS Judges 2014 
(l-r) Judges: Claude Griffin, Shell; Doug Schuler, Rice; Russ Conser, formerly with Shell; Daniel Cohan, Rice.

 More about RURS.